Home / Community / Udall, Heinrich Introduce Resolution to Celebrate Latina Women During Women’s History Month

Udall, Heinrich Introduce Resolution to Celebrate Latina Women During Women’s History Month

By Tom Udall Press Office 

Washington – U.S. Senators Tom Udall and Martin Heinrich introduced a resolution to celebrate and recognize the heritage, culture and contributions of Latinas in New Mexico and throughout the United States during National Women’s History Month.

“New Mexico’s rich history has been written in large part by Latina women who defined our values, enriched our culture, and helped our state and nation thrive: activists, teachers, artists, professionals, leaders, thinkers, scientists, public officials,” said Udall. “This resolution honors the countless contributions Latinas have made to New Mexico and our country, while recognizing the unique challenges that many of these women have and continue to face. This month, let’s honor their legacy and continue to fight for equality and opportunity for every woman.”

“From civil rights leaders Dolores Huerta and Graciela Olivárez to Ambassador Mari-Luci Jaramillo, Latinas in New Mexico have long helped write the economic, social, and cultural story of America,” said Heinrich. “I’m proud to recognize the invaluable contributions of Latinas during Women’s History Month by introducing the first congressional resolution of its kind that honors generations of Latinas who have helped shape America and continue to inspire the next generation of Latina leaders.”

In addition to Udall and Heinrich, the resolution is cosponsored by U.S. Senators Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.), Bob Menendez (D-N.J.), Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), (Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Jack Reed (D-R.I.), Bill Nelson (D-Fla.), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.), Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), Chris Coons (D-Conn.), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Ed Markey (D-Mass.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Kamala Harris (D-Calif.), Tina Smith (D-Minn.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.) and Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.).

About Estevan Gonzales

Check Also

Santa Fe Public Schools Announces New Principal for Tesuque Elementary School for 2019-2020

By SFPS Santa Fe Public Schools announced today that Tesuque Elementary School, a K-6 school, …